The famous street musician Chuck Deely, who died on Monday January 9, 2017, will be honored on Sunday, August 25, 2019 with a new free festival: The Streets Of Chuck Deely. The event immerses the city center of The Hague in music, street theater, dance and street art.


A large number of artists perform in the Grote Marktstraat from 12:00 to 18:00. Something happens on almost every street corner. Be surprised by new talents and by the well-known artists who give an intimate acoustic performance. The festival closes in the evening with a number of concerts on the Grote Markt. Together about 30 acts will perform on Sunday 25 August. Keep an eye on this site and our Facebook for updates about the program.


During the day (12.00 – 18.00) there are acoustic performances (in alphabetical order) in the Grote Marktstraat: AliaZ, Aymar Torres Duo, Banner, Base, Brynja, Carlijn & Merle, Convoi Exceptional, De Kiloknallers, DuCroock, Eduard Bekker, Femke Japing, Graeme James, Janne Schra, Jhilani Wijsman, Joost Wander, Kurkervrouwen, LUVR, Mima’s Chio Manush Orchestra, Mitch Rivers, Mojo Jojo, Moniek de Leeuw, NAFT, Pleun Stork, Teddy Macrander, Tess et les Moutons, Tim Knol (solo ), Twigs & Twine and Vince Irie. During the day there is also Street Dance by Beweigi, Heavy Hitters, KOO Summer School, MOVES !, The Blue Stars Line Dancers and Twerkshop. There is also street theater: The Mobile Unit, The Circling Magician, The Meemaaktheater and Milan. Street Art is provided by De Krijtman, Ka van Haasteren, during the festival.

All participating artists have a chance to win the Chuck Deely Award (a replica of the visual work of artist Vincent de Kievit) and the Chuck Deely Encouragement Prize (including a workshop guidance and coaching from Popradar The Hague).

The festival concludes with a full evening program on the outdoor stage on the Grote Markt, with fully amplified performances by Son Mieux (solo), Livin ‘Blues Xperience, The Balcony Players and the Neil Young Tribute from The Hague. Moreover, during the evening the first Chuck Deely Awards will be presented by aldermen Richard de Mos of Economy and Robert van Asten of Culture.

The block schedule will be online soon!